The E-Mail That Started It All

On Saturday, May 29, 2010, I sat at Starbucks in Santa Clarita, California and banged out a message to Kurt Shipcott, the founder of KurtisUSA, manufacturers of surf goggles. He and I have been friends for more than a dozen years – and have been talking about business since the minute we met, usually while drinking beer.

Here’s that message:

Hey Buddy,

I am now SERIOUSLY hopped up on coffee. My skin is tingling. The other customers here at Starbucks are moving their chairs away from me. Surely, they are afraid I’m going to burst into flames or something.

When I asked you about numbers a week or so ago, you came back with $100K per month. That number resonated with me. It’s a “stretch goal” only because you and I have never done it. But… is it a stretch? No. It’s very possible.

In the next year, I want both you and I to get to the point where we’re clearing $100K per month.

Independence Day, buddy. On July 4, 2011, I want both you and I to tip back a couple of oil cans, celebrating the spectacular freedom our country affords us – and the spectacular opportunities we seized under that umbrella of freedom.

What does this mean to our lives in the coming year?

It means we need to wake each morning with $100K on the brain – and make every professional decision with that $100K in mind. It will be fun, but it will take discipline.

It means we need to stop asking those around us for advice. You and Susie are the only people in my life who are in on this with me. I don’t have any friends that make $100K per month. I don’t have any family members who are making $100K per month. I love my friends. I love my family. But they have nothing to offer me in terms of advice. You and I are lead sharks and we need to, again, with discipline, embrace this role.

It means we (I?) need to stop asking those around me for approval. Neither my friends nor my family need to know what I’m doing. If we’re going to ramp up to $100K per month in the next year, we do not have time to give people reports of our progress. We are doers, not reporters.

It means our efforts need to be focused like a laser on the Internet. That sort of seriously accelerated growth is still possible online – and nowhere else. Also, our skill set is perfectly suited for this arena. Provocative messages. Provocative images. We are communicators. Let’s communicate – and earn.

Are you with me? If so, how “with me” are you? Is there anything above that doesn’t ring true? What am I leaving out?

For the first time in a loooooong time, I have a context for books like “Think and Grow Rich.” There is a perfect singleness of purpose with this $100K per month goal. It’s easy to see. It’s easy to understand. It clarifies. And… more than anything… it excites.

I’m in. I’m lead sharking it right now. I quite expect you to be joining me soon –

Have a great day!

MB

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

