400 Days to $100K

Sunday, May 30, 2010 – Day 2

My Independence Day is exactly 400 days away. 400 days to solve this money puzzle. Crazy times ahead.

I am a talented writer/producer who has spent a ton of time honing my craft. I have been dreaming of being in the motion pictures industry since I was a kid – since I saw Star Wars, I suppose. This new way of thinking shakes the very foundation on which my career stands.

I used to want to make movies. My decisions were made with that end in mind. I knew that if I made movies – and made them well – money would follow. Didn’t know how much money, but did know that good things would happen. I wasn’t worried about the specifics. Now I am.

Now, I want to do whatever it’s going to take to make $100,000 per month. The old perspective doesn’t work. The movie business is notoriously unpredictable. It’s also a mature business with entrenched powers that offers little growth potential. That’s me as a guy with a degree in marketing talking, finally taking seriously the economic realities I face.

Will I make movies? Sure. Like I said, I am a talented and experienced writer/producer. But, since I have to consciously build a business in the next 400 days that earns me $100,000 per month, I won’t be just marching forward based on whims and I won’t be continuing to do the same things I’ve been doing for many, many years.

The thought of suspending my dream of making movies causes me a bit of anxiety. But, I’m strangely calmed by the knowledge that I have a definite end in mind.

It’s going to be fun.

Yesterday I:

  1. Made an appointment to see Gina Vivona to see how much she wants to be involved with my graphics work.
  2. Talked to Joe Nell about getting Beer Beach edited.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

